Regional Universities Conference

The Regional Universities: Anchor Institutions Transforming their Regions Conference featured speakers from across the country. Here are some of the photos from the two-day conference which was held at Southern Cross University’s Gold Campus in mid-October. Photos by Gregory Totman.

The early morning buzz at registration

Emeritus Professor Kwong Lee Dow

Luther Cora of the Bundjalung nation welcomes delegates to country


Professor Adam Shoemaker, Vice-Chancellor Southern Cross University

Professor Greg Hill, Vice-Chancellor University of the Sunshine Coast

Professor Andrew Vann, Vice-Chancellor Charles Sturt University

Dr Peter O’Brien, Executive Director, Yorkshire Universities

Professor Richard Speed, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Regional) La Trobe University

Professor Brian Stout, Provost, Liverpool Campus, Western Sydney University

Dr Caroline Perkins, Executive Director, Regional Universities Network

Sarah Cordiner, Executive Director and Head Broom Campus, University of Notre Dame

Professor Ieuan Ellis, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Partnerships and Regions) Staffordshire University

Professor Scott Bowman, Vice-Chancellor CQUniversity

Professor Simon Maddocks, Vice-Chancellor Charles Darwin University

Professor Helen Bartlett, Vice-Chancellor Federation University

Professor Caroline Finch, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Edith Cowan University

Jeff Pullford, Executive Director, Ballarat Technology Park, Federation University

Professor David Adams, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Community, Partnerships and Regional Development) University of Tasmania

Associate Professor Laura Dan, Director Knowledge Exchange and Engagement, Charles Sturt University

Jack Archer, CEO Regional Australia Institute

Student Success Panelists (from left) Dr Caroline Perkins Executive Director RUN, Professor Karen Nelson, Pro Vice-Chancellor (Students) University of the Sunshine Coast, Adjunct Professor Sally Kift, La Trobe and James Cook Universities and Associate Professor Andrew Harvey, Director, Centre for Higher Education Equity and Diversity, La Trobe University

The Student Panel (from left) Jayden Bonk, Charles Sturt University, Dr Sadie Heckenberg President National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Association, Aidan Train, University of Southern Queensland and Angela Powditch, Southern Cross University

Indigenous Issues and Strategies Panelists (from left) Professor Tracey Bunda, Head, College for Indigenous Studies, Education and Research, University of Southern Queensland; Dr Sadie Heckenberg, President National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Association; Janine Widders-Lockwood and Malachi Cook, Oorala Camp Participants University of New England; Greg Davison, Director, Oorala Aboriginal Centre, University of New England; Professor Norm Sheehan, Director, Gnibi College of Indigenous Australian Peoples, Southern Cross University and panel Chair, Professor Adam Shoemaker

Mike Lanzing, General Manager, UniBank sponsor of the conference dinner

George Megalogenis, writer and journalist and after-dinner speaker

Higher Ed Services CEO Dr Andrew Trnacek

Professor Geraldine Mackenzie, Vice-Chancellor University of Southern Queensland

Cr Col Murray, Deputy Chair Regional Capitals Australia and Mayor, Tamworth Regional Council

Associate Professor Ben Lyons, Director, Queensland Rural Economies Centre for Excellence

Vice-Chancellors and Politicians Panel (from left) Professor Andrew Vann, Professor Geraldine Mackenzie, Professor Simon Maddocks, Professor Helen Bartlett, Professor Greg Hill, Professor Adam Shoemaker, Senator Louise Pratt, Shadow Assistant Minister for Universities and Equality, Scott Buchholz, Assistant Minister for Roads and Transport and Minister representing the Deputy Prime Minister, Michael McCormack, Cathy McGowan, Member for Indi and moderator Stan Grant

RUN Vice-Chancellors (from left) Professor Helen Bartlett, Professor Greg Hill and Professor Adam Shoemaker and Senator Louise Pratt

Vice-Chancellors (from left) Professor Andrew Vann, Professor Geraldine Mackenzie, Professor Simon Maddocks and Professor Helen Bartlett