29 November 2018

Program may be subject to change


Registrations open


The future of innovation, excellence and diversity. How can regulation help?

Anthony McClaran, CEO, TEQSA


Innovation, Excellence and Diversity in higher education: View from the Peaks

Chair: Andrew Norton, Program Director, Higher Education, Grattan Institute

  • Bruce Callaghan, Chair, Australian Council of Private Education and Training
  • Nicholas Hunt, Chair TAFE Directors’ Australia, Finance, Audit and Risk Committee and Chief Executive Officer, William Angliss Institute
  • Professor Elizabeth More, AO, Board Member, Council Of Private Higher Education
  • Professor Deborah Terry, AO, Deputy Chair, Universities Australia and Vice-Chancellor, Curtin University


Inspiring Innovation Through Student Engagement

Derfel Owen, Director of Academic Services, University College London


Morning Tea


What’s in a name and what’s in a qualification?

Chair: Professor Ian O’Connor AC, Chair, Higher Education Standards Panel and Vice-Chancellor, Griffith University

  • Emeritus Professor Peter Coaldrake AO, Reviewer of the Higher Education Provider Category Standards and former Vice-Chancellor, Queensland University of Technology
  • Professor Kerri-Lee Krause, Member, Higher Education Standards Panel and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Academic), La Trobe University
  • Professor Peter Noonan, Chair, Australian Qualifications Framework Review and Professor of Tertiary Education Policy, Mitchell Institute, Victoria University


Excellence and Equity – Reflections on TEQSA’s Role

Chair: Dr Lin Martin, TEQSA Commissioner

  • Associate Professor Andrew Harvey, Director, Centre for Higher Education Equity and Diversity Research, La Trobe University
  • Mary Kelly, AM, Equity Director, Queensland University of Technology 
  • Ethan Taylor, Immediate Past National President, Union of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Students


Innovation, Excellence, Diversity in a joined up sector 

Chair: Andrew Norton, Program Director, Higher Education, Grattan Institute


Lunch Break and Networking

 Provider lunch with TEQSA Staff hosted by TEQSA CEO Anthony McClaran


International perspectives: on innovation Excellence Diversity

Chair:  Professor Deborah Terry, AO, Vice-Chancellor, Curtin University

  • Forough Ataollahi, 2018 NSW International Student of the Year
  • Melissa Banks, President, International Education Association of Australia and Pro Vice-Chancellor (International) James Cook University
  • Brett Blacker, CEO, English Australia
  • Brandon Lee, Director General, Committee for Private Education, Singapore


TEQSA Commissioners Panel

Chair: TEQSA CEO, Anthony McClaran


Afternoon tea and close


Dinner and Grand Quiz

Quiz Master: Anthony McClaran


Dinner concludes